Teaching

I volunteer with a group of school children weekly. This year we have a new student, I think he’s 13 or 14 and I strongly suspect he is somewhere on the autism spectrum. I’ve did some research after the first time I met him, and most of the signs point to that. He has lots of hand movements (that he says he can’t control), he’s completely monotonous (friends call him monotone man), it’s insanely hard to get him to focus on the task, and yet he really gets the things he is responsible for and other students’ things as well (sometimes more than they do), he constantly interrupts others.
I don’t know what to do with him. Do I push him to stick to the task at hand? Do I cut him some slack because he seems to have some other needs? How hard do I push him?
I really think our program is a good thing for him, so I don’t want to scare him off. But I also can’t have him being a distraction to everyone else, and having them get less out of the program.
I’m not finding much in terms of research on older kids with autism, most things I’m finding relate to younger kids or diagnosing it.
Any ideas?

About foodieontheedge

I love food. Good food even. But my skinny jeans haven't fit in 5 years. It's time to get my ass back into them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Teaching

  1. Amanda says:

    Thanks for the comment on my blog the other day 🙂 I appreciate it.

    As for the kid, you can cut him SOME slack but not much. You still have to be firm (yet gentle) and tell him what he needs to work on. Maybe have his parents come in for a conference and find out what works best.

Leave a Reply

